Skip to content

February 16, 2012

David Lennam

by Darren Stone

I decided to branch out a bit from straight fashion and use what I have learned in the studio with portraiture. I take hundreds of portraits for the newspaper  every year, but mostly environmental portraits without the studio setup. I made a lighting set up when I had a few people over the other night for a party. I instructed the subjects to give me  a “badass or crazy” look. My friend David Lennam, a Canadian writer,  was one of the guests who posed. This is Dave’s “badass” look. It was great and weird that Dave showed up to the party in his blue bathrobe for the “Blue Theme” party. So I guess Dave kind of covered “badass and crazy” all in one look. I set up a quick backdrop with paper and used a White Lighting X1600 shot through a  beauty dish directly in front and above the sunbject. You can see the lighting diagram below. I used the Alien Skin Exposure  CS5 plug-in Polapan film emulation to add some grain and the blue/pink tones.  Camera was the Canon 5D Mark 2 with a Canon  EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L  lens.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

